Adventures in cheese-making

Whew! I don’t know about you but I’m still full from my back to back Thanksgiving feasts. I’ve had so many cooking adventures in the past few weeks, I don’t even know where to begin. For now, I’ll focus on the latest and most exciting-my first time making cheese! I’ve been dying to try a fresh mozzarella or ricotta but was a little intimidated by the process. With the help of some good friends, we tackled it step by step and ended up with enough cheese for three homemade pizzas. Yum!

stretching

I picked up some fresh unpasteurized milk, rennet, and citric acid from the good people at The Brooklyn Kitchen and used a helpful tutorial from Food52. I read through each step and prepped all my ingredients and tools before getting started. One gallon of milk yielded about a pound of fresh mozzarella and about a 1/4 cup of ricotta.

And now, some tips for when you’re ready to tackle your own cheese-making:

-The steps happen rather quickly so I would definitely have all of your tools at hand when you begin to heat your milk

-Food-safe gloves could really come in handy during the stretching of the mozzarella. The water is very hot and this will help you to keep the cheese curds submerged long enough to stretch to the right consistency.

-Cannot stress this enough (and if you’ve read any cheese-making recipes, you already know) -the right milk makes all the difference. Most grocery stores sell ultra-pasteurized and homogenized milk to extend the shelf life but this heat treated milk will not yield good cheese. The New England Cheesemaking Supply Company has a great list of where you can find raw cow, goat, and sheep’s milk in your state.

margherita

After finishing up our cheese, we rolled out a few pizza crusts and got to toppings. We had a classic or two and a tribute to my favorite pie from Saluggi’s in Tribeca.

fresh tomato sauce, basil, mozzarella

fresh ricotta, garlic infused olive oil, wilted spinach

balsamic roasted brussels sprout, bacon, caramelized onions, mozzarella

brussels

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

